The tiniest detail

Today was not a fun day for writing. I was trying to research a certain thing for my book and I learned a lot- I really did, but not on what I wanted. I’ve sifted through two centuries of history trying to find the tiniest detail – really, the tiniest detail.

It amazes me how much work can go into something that will probably take up one paragraph of your book at the most. But the inclusion of such minute detail is often essential. Merely a paragraph outlining some historical natural disaster or perhaps socially expected behavior for that time period can be the little bit of detail that leads to the beginning of an event that shapes your characters and your story. It is in my case anyway.

Sometimes, it is the small things that can make a big difference. Messing up dates or writing something that just would not occur in that point in history would be truly unforgivable.ย  I can hardly have one of my characters snapchatting in the 16th century now can I? Nor can I have George Washington mentioned as being president if the book is set in the 19th century.

By doing my research not only am I enriching my book with a fleck or two of history, I am also making sure that I don’t make any stupid mistakes – now that would be embarrassing!

Usually I love a bit of research but I’m not feeling it today. Possibly because my eyes are swollen – who knew someone could be allergic to vitamin E face cream? I had to find that out by rubbing it all over my face and now my hazel eyes look more like hazelnuts. Anyway, I’m done researching for the night – its 3am here in England! So I’m gonna kick back with ma’ dawg!

monty

 

Love E.L

2 thoughts on “The tiniest detail

  1. The thing about research is that it’s just as much about you being happy that you’ve covered your bases as well. I’m a big believer in a great breadth of information being collected before you can funnel it down. How can anyone get the full picture if they have only snippets? I bet you’ll sleep better knowing you have that little gold nugget ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Absolutely! Some of the things that I have been finding I would love to include however they are not relevant to the geographical location of my setting. If I were to include them I risk devaluing the reader experience. I can’t make facts up nor can I blur them if I want to make sure that I get it right. If that means drowning in a huge amount of research then so be it, because when I get back to the shallows I’ll be holding my prize and it will all have been worth it ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for your comment too x

Leave a Reply

