Finding Inspiration. Stopping Writers Block before it starts!

Like many writers there are times when I just can’t find the words. Everything I write is absolute rubbish with a capital R. When I find myself in this pit I also find it extremely difficult to get out of.

My worst bout went on for a few weeks. I finally found what I wanted when I was out walking by myself one day. I was thinking about my book and the problem that I was facing and the answer just hit me. That was a good day. That night I was back to where I wanted to be. Writing.

I don’t want to experience that again. What writer does? So, I found my muse.  Something that helps me to stop writers block before it starts.

Every night I listen to a song before I start writing. Sometimes the words or the tune reflect the mood in my writing at the time. Other times they just relax me and get me in the right head-space for writing. Either way I have found it extremely helpful. I’m not saying that it works 100% of the time but it has certainly made a big difference.

I started tweeting ‘The Song before the Words’ most nights with a link to the song that I was listening to. I don’t know if it will help any of you at all but if it only helps one person then that is a good thing.

So here is my list of the songs that I have listened to in the past few months in the minutes before I start writing. I don’t listen to a new song every night, I stick with the one that I am currently using at that time so the list is not huge! If you click on the title of the song it will take you to youtube where you can listen to it, if you want!

Human’ by Christina Perri.

A Drop in the Ocean‘ by Ron Pope

Sad Romance‘ by Ji PyeongKeyon (This is a beautiful violin piece)

Let Her Go‘ by Passenger

Say Something‘ by A Great Big World ft Christina Aguilera (This one I listen to for the violin piece at the end)

Love’s to Blame‘ by Joel and Luke (this is a heart breaker!)

A Reason to Hope‘ by Ron Pope

All of Me‘ Tiesto remix by John Legend (Way more upbeat!)

Solace‘ by Runaground

Fall at your Feet‘ by Crowded House

Shelter‘ by Birdy

Wait for Me‘ by Kings of Leon

I may have forgotten one or two but there they are. They vary in style but I hope you enjoy them as much as I do! If you have a song that you think helps I would love to hear it!

 

Love E.L

 

 

10 thoughts on “Finding Inspiration. Stopping Writers Block before it starts!

  1. I do this sometimes too. I put on music as I’m pottering about the house before I start and its like it signals the beginning of a writing day. Then when I get stuck in I have to turn it off as it’s distracting. I listen to “Jar of Hearts,” from Christina Perri and “Say something.” My latest favs are “Young and Beautiful”, by Lana Del ray and Sia’s “Chandelier.” 🙂

    • Hi, Jar of Hearts is already a favourtie of mine, anything by Christina Perri. I just listened to the others you suggested. The one by Lana del Ray – Wow! I love it so much. I have a thing for violins, I think they sound so beautiful so it sucked me in immediately. Thank you, more songs to add to my list 🙂

  2. I had writer’s block for a long time, longer than you did and it really sucked. Sometimes it’s just a faze of creativity called incubation. You think you’re not thinking about it but in fact you’re trying to find the solution and then it suddenly hits you. Glad that you found the method to prevent that. I listen to Ed Sheeran, A Thousand Years by Christina Perry, Coldplay, jazz… it depends on what I’m writing. 🙂

  3. Great post, Emma.
    I tend to listen to anything with poetic or complex lyrics (e.g Tori Amos, P.J Harvey, some Alanis Morrisette) if I’m stuck in a rut. The best two tips I’ve got for beating the dreaded block is to go for a drive (something about using a completely different part of your brain makes ideas just pop up) and, oddly, writing through it. I’ve found writing a tongue and cheek stream of consciousness starting with something silly like, “So Imagination, let’s put you to work..” I normally finish the page with plenty of ideas.

    Lorellepage, that Lana del Rey track is amazing. So decadent.

    • I love Alanis Morisette. Thank you for your suggestions – I will definitely try them when I get stuck again (which I am sure I will lol). Thank you so much for reading and commenting. It means a lot to me 🙂

  4. I absolutely LOVE listening to songs for inspiration. My go-to album to write through my creative writing workshop in college was “Stay What You Are” by Saves the Day. Lately, I’ve found inspiration in The Lumineers!

Leave a Reply

