Writing out the Storm

Yup, not riding, writing. Do you find that the weather can impact your writing? I certainly do.

I love nothing more than throwing open the windows during a storm and writing my little heart out. Except maybe the electrical storm we had here in England last week. That was scary!

I find that I can write some of my most beautiful scenes during storms. I suppose the fact that I love a good storm changes my mood. Positivity breeds better quality. The whole ambiance of the rain kissing the earth and washing away all the bad inspires me. After the storm a new world awaits full of possibilities. Take off your shoes, step outside into the soaked grass and tell me what you feel.

I feel totally disconnected from humanity and in a place where I can create. A blank canvas where anything goes. I can build a new character from the ground up. I can paint a landscape with words. All of this I can do best during and after a storm.

When it is warm and sunny out, I feel that I can write tender scenes better. These can range from sweet romance to best friends interacting or anything soul baring.

During blustery yet bright days, usually in the autumn, I like to write reflective scenes.

During heavy rain I like to write the big fights. Usually because these scenes can involve a tragic loss, painted darker by the greyness outside.

I have yet to write in the snow which is a shame as I love snow. I would happily build myself a little igloo and live in it.

Of course it is incredibly difficult to build a book following the seasons. However I have found that I can revisit a scene and make it that bit better by having Mother Nature on my side.

So, am I going crazy? Is this the beginnings of the ramblings of a mad woman? Or do you find that the weather can also affect your writing? Try it and see.

Love E.L

6 thoughts on “Writing out the Storm

Leave a Reply

