Time to reflect

As I approach the half way mark of writing book two, I thought now would be a good time to take a look back, reflect a little.

Book one was not easy to write. I had imagined that I could just sit down and begin, thinking that I would write fluidly throughout. Nope. I don’t know if I have mentioned this on my blog before but the first ten or twelve chapters of book oneΒ  were originally written in third person. Most of the books that I read are in first person so I have absolutelyΒ  no idea why I chose third. I continued at first, ignoring my fears – hoping they would go away but the bottom line was the book needed changing. I couldn’t connect properly to the protagonist and if I, as the writer couldn’t, how are the readers supposed to? So major overhaul ensued. It didn’t really take that long, a few nights but it was a total pain in the butt. That was probably the biggest problem I faced. Book two is a whole other story.

35k words in, I decided that the book was too complex. There was just far too much going on to be able to fit into the general size requirements of a young adult book. I was writing two books in one. So, one of my evil characters got iced. She will be back though, to reign terror on my characters in the third. Unfortunately, that left a lot of work to be done to tidy up what I had written so far. It has taken a couple of weeks (I think, though it feels like months) to get it all back up to scratch. I still think it needs more but I will get to that in the second draft.

Another problem I ran into, well maybe not a problem so much, is that I allowed two months to pass in a single sentence. I wrote a couple of paragraphs on what had happened in those two months but nothing in depth. On I charged, but a few chapters later I got to thinking. Those two months were hugely symbolic. My characters current actions were based on what she had experienced during that time. So, I decided that I really needed to write those two months in. It wasn’t a huge amount, spanning three chapters, but it definitely made a massive difference to the quality.

I had written up an outline for book two, all of which I deviated from. I knew what was going to happen in the beginning, middle and end – now I haven’t the foggiest what will happen in the closing chapter and even if I did, I am sure it would change by the time I was finished. So, that’s where I am at the moment. I have no idea where I am going and no idea how I am going to get there. In short, I haven’t a clue what I am doing. Isn’t that the same for us all though?

 

Love E.L

17 thoughts on “Time to reflect

  1. I think I tried to outline one of my books once, and I quickly realized I can’t write with outlines. I’ve mentioned this to you before, but my characters really end up driving what happens and trying to bend them to my will has ended up with me crying more tears than them.

    I like writing in the first person, but a few of my series are in third and I have fun switching between them – totally joking there. It’s hard for me to get into a new book if I’m switching things up, and it’s even more fun if I switch tense.

    Keep up the hard work. I’m sure in the end everything will come together just like you imagined it πŸ™‚

    • The outline had its uses but I am not sure if I will use one again. I change my mind one day to the next! lol

      I write predominately in first but there are some third person chapters. I just couldn’t connect with my protagonist in third. I think this was a failing on my part but in first she is much more likeable.

      I am reading one of yours at the moment, which is in third and I am enjoying it a lot. I will certainly follow the series.

      Thank you for commenting Amber, I really appreciate it πŸ™‚

      • No problem. I love reading your posts because so often I feel like I’m going through a lot of the same things.

        I saw you’d tweeted about one of my books, and I instantly said to myself “Oh no, she’s going to hate it”, so I’m glad you’re enjoying it. I need to work on getting over the dread that instantly washes over me when I learn people are reading my books.

      • I’m sorry – I chuckled when I read ‘Oh no, she’s going to hate it.’ I think that is the same reaction I have when I hand mine over to a Beta. That fear, I think, makes us better writers. We won’t throw out the first thing that we pen without reading, re-reading, editing (you know how it goes) until we are as happy as we can be with it. We want people to enjoy reading it though there is the ever present fear that they will hate it. Well, I am enjoying yours very much so I absolutely do not hate it, quite the opposite. πŸ™‚

    • Oh, she will be back. With a bang. I have an evil character in there at the moment, but the complexities of his character are driven by her character, which will all be explored so that is going to be fun to write πŸ™‚

  2. Bravo, Em. Been there, done that, got the T-shirts (note the plural). The struggles must continue, but in some moments, the giggles set in and the words just flow. Or so I’ve been told. I do know my characters sometimes — no, make that “often” — surprise me. Usually after a nap.

    • Thank you Jake πŸ™‚ It is a struggle sometimes but the end reward makes it worth it. I especially love the times when the words pour from my brain out onto the page, I get a real sense of achievement when that happens.

Leave a Reply

