All I Ask Of You

As some of you know, some of us have found interesting ways to distract ourselves throughout the Pitch Wars process. From posting funny videos to naming characters or book title, we have found the fun in the excruciating wait for word from the Mentors. One of the fun things we can all take part in is tweeting #PitchWarsAMA – Ask me anything, started by @Eris0303. If you see the hashtag, ask the person a question. Once they reach five questions they will post up the answers on their blog and tag someone to do it next. Please note, this is totally unofficaial, it is just participants finding ways to have more Pitch Wars fun.

So, here are the five questions that I was asked:

How do you prepare to write rough draft of new manuscript? Asked by @EGMooreWriter

I don’t prepare rough drafts, ever. I just begin and go from there. For my first book, from start to finish, it went: write, edit, write, edit, write, edit, edit, edit, write, edit. Or something like that. For my second I did do an outline but I have deviated from it so much now that I am giving up with it and have returned to write, edit, write, edit… you get it. I do keep a list of character attributes and aesthetics, these are especially helpful early on. By now, I know my characters so well I don’t need to refer to it. I have gone back and forth between saying ‘yay – outlines are great’ to ‘I can’t work like this’ but ultimately when I get stuck it can be useful to write a quick outline for the next couple of chapters, none of which I will stick to but I find it gets me writing again.

Have you ever taken a literary trip? Asked by @Eris0303

I am not well travelled. By that, I mean I was born in Ireland, moved to England when I was nine and went on a school day trip to France when I was ten. So no, I have never taken a literary trip. However, I do plan on visiting the Jane Austen Museum which is not far from where I live. I do go for a walk when I get flummoxed by something in my writing – does that count?

The one trip I want to take more than anything for my writing is to the Appalachian Trail. I would love to hike it all the way through from Maine to Georgia; it is a dream of mine. My story is set in the Appalachians, I just love the trail so much even though I have never walked it, or seen it in anything other than pictures.

If there was one thing, other than writing, that you’d like to succeed in, what would it be? Asked by ‏@winellroad

Again, I would like to reach my second dream (first is obviously writing related) and walk the Appalachian trail. Other than that, I would like to travel all around the world.

Do you ever put a little bit of EL Wicker in your main characters? Asked by @TKentWrites

Yes, my protagonist lived a solitary life for a long time. That is her little piece of me. I like the solitude that writing brings – I enjoy my own company. Plus, I like to think I’m kickass *sniggers

What are your hardest scenes to write? Asked by ‏@Aightball

This is an interesting one because what I do and do not find hard to write is not what I thought. I used to think that writing action and fight scenes were going to be the most difficult but it turned out that I was pretty good at them (according to my lovely Beta’s).

The hardest parts to write are actually the emotions. I don’t want to say – ‘I felt sad’ I want to describe what my character is doing in a way that the reader can see she is sad through her actions. We can show that we are sad by being disinterested in everything, we can show our anger by behaving badly so why write ‘I felt angry’ when there are so many fantastic ways to show the emotion our characters are feeling. Raw emotion is powerful, and using it is a great way to have your character act ‘out of character’ so I try to utilize that. When I first started writing, it was hard to do that and at times, it still is. I regularly search my MS for the words feel and felt so I can weed them out and inject some emotion through action where possible.

So that is my five. Next up – @EGMooreWriter TAG – You’re it!

Love E.L

8 thoughts on “All I Ask Of You

  1. We’re kindred spirits in the write, edit, write, edit thing. I never stick to outlines (or rather my characters don’t). I write notes like biographical notes for characters (birthdays etc.) and that’s the extent of my planning.

    Good luck in PItchWars!

    • That’s it exactly!! The characters take over and lead the story. It’s like trying to walk a giant untrained dog, they will drag you wherever they want to go no matter what you want! We are indeed kindred spirits with the character bio and write, edit, write, edit! Thank you for commenting and I wish you the very best of luck with Pitch Wars too 🙂

  2. I agree with emotion being more difficult than action to write. I was asked in an interview what was the hardest thing I ever had to write. My answer was the first time I killed off a character. It took me all day to write that one scene, and I was exhausted at the end of it.
    She had to die to advance the plot because it was motivation for the protagonist and having his mother die raised the stakes. All normal things we do as writers, but good gravy, it hurt my heart. I was one of the few times I edited while I wrote because I felt it had to be done just right the first time.

    • I feel exactly where you are coming from. One of mine is experiencing a similar thing and writing about it is definitely draining but the finished result of it should be well worth it. Sometimes it makes me feel quite heartbroken myself but this is surely a good thing, the same goes for you. Besides, I have my mischievous, funny character to make things feel a little lighter 🙂 Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. By the way – the last time I tried Scotch neat, I was sure I was going to die!! lol – I’m working on getting better 🙂 I’m one of those that drinks those bright fruity drinks aimed at new adults 🙂

      • I can tell by the Scotch reference that you visited my blog. Thank you very much.

        You tastes will mature over time. Also, there are exceedingly light Scotches with fruity notes. Seek them out. The book “Whiskeys of the World” is a good starting point. Just don’t drink Southern Comfort in the belief that it’s anything other than a liqueur. 🙂

  3. As we’ve discussed, we are building a home in Asheville, NC not too far from the Appalachian Trail. I hope that when you make that trip, you will stop by and sign your debut novel for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

