Soul of You

I haven’t written a song in years, but in the early hours of this morning, the same few lines kept going round and round my head, bouncing through my mind. I ignored them and went to sleep.

Have you ever thought of an epic line while you’re lying in bed, staring into the dark? I have – and nine times out of ten, I never remember them when I wake. Yet this morning, the words still reverberated through my brain. The damn things bit me.

So, I gave in and wrote them down, then I spent an hour this evening building on them and ended up with the song below. The words that wouldn’t go away ended up being the second half of the song that starts ‘Today the empty came’.

The original meaning is coherent in my mind, but, as with all art, it’s subjective. It can be interpreted in many ways, to suit many readers, which is the intention.

As I mentioned, I haven’t written lyrics in a looooong time, so some are out a few beats, I didn’t go for fluidity.
Usually, I don’t put a complete piece of writing online but as I have no plans for this, here it is.

Soul of yougirl-wind

My days are spent alone
Nights follow on the tone
Rest don’t find me easy, I’ve given up.
The frosty pale of blue
Forgotten golden hue
Horizons come and go, I never see.
Expressions in the dark
Heavy blinding me
Haunted dreams of you, a promise lost

I’m hoping one day I will see your face, breaking through the haze
For now I’ll just keep up my cold pursuit, until I know your name
Maybe if I search this earth real hard, I’ll find my own way home
And I’ll finally find the one I never knew, the soul of you.

Today the empty came
It took my soul away
Woulda clawed for its survival but I was lost
I reached up to the clouds
Sorrow pushed back down
Gonna lay on cold hard ground for a little while
The ruffle of the breeze
Whispers from the trees
Coulda sworn I heard your voice callin out to me

I’m hoping one day I will see your face, breaking through the haze
For now I’ll just keep up my cold pursuit, until I know your name
Maybe if I search this earth real hard, I’ll find my own way home
And I’ll finally find the one I never knew, the soul of you.

I still stumble over cracks
Can’t find my own way back
To a place, I think it’s clear
I’ll never know.

I’m hoping one day I will see your face, breaking through the haze
For now I’ll just keep up my cold pursuit, until I know your name
Maybe if I search this earth real hard, I’ll find my own way home
And I’ll finally find the one I never knew, the soul of you.

The one I never knew. Undiscovered soul of you.

8 thoughts on “Soul of You

  1. One word … Beautiful. My favorite part below.

    My days are spent alone
    Nights follow on the tone
    Rest don’t find me easy, I’ve given up.
    The frosty pale of blue
    Forgotten golden hue
    Horizons come and go, I never see.
    Expression in the dark
    Heavy blinding me
    Haunted dreams of you, a promise lost

    • Thank you Sherry, I really appreciate that. Maybe one day I’ll pick up the guitar again and add a tune. I think my family would rather I didn’t though, lol! 🙂

Leave a Reply

