So Much To Do – So Little Time

As I write this blog post I am also trying to tempt my daughter down from the back of the sofa – I have no idea why she’s up there. Just like I have no idea why, when I walked into their bedroom when they were little, my eldest – then 8, had a bag wrapped around her shoulders, jumping off the bed, shouting ‘I can fly!’

Fitting everything in is difficult. Between cooking, cleaning, keeping the children entertained, writing, and – well everything else, there really is little time for doing things to relax. My kindle is jammed with books I want to read. There’s a block of SLS free soap hiding in the cupboard from a soap-making project I abandoned last year and I still haven’t managed to watch all the films I want to, or get to the Jane Austen House Museum – which really isn’t all that far from where I live. Where does the time go?

My eldest daughter is helping out right now by designing the Halloween party invitations, which is awesome – one less thing to do. Other daughter is now down from the back of the sofa – phew, no trips to the ER today, actually, come to think of it, we’ve only ever need to do that trip twice, and all was okay.

Some days I feel like I’m on top of it all. Those are undoubtedly the days when something goes awry. Like the day my eldest though it would be hilarious to drop a mento into her lemonade – while sitting on the sofa. Or the day the dog ate something he shouldn’t and projectile vomited all over the carpet, or the day the water line burst and flooded the kitchen and utility room, or the day the cat knocked a tub of turquoise paint all over the carpet. Yup, those are the days when you realize, no matter how much you plan, stuff happens, and stuff seems to happen a lot.

NANOWRIMOSo why, oh why have I decided to participate in NaNoWriMo? For those of you who don’t know what it is NaNoWriMo is National Novel Writing Month. On November 1st hundreds of thousands of writers will sit down and attempt to write a 50K novel by 00:59 on November 30th.

I’m doing it for a variety of reasons. First, my last novel took me the best part of a year to write. It was my first, therefore there was a lot to learn. I’ve lost count of how many drafts it took to finally be completed so I’m hoping NaNoWriMo will help me to at least get to 50k a heck of a lot quicker than I usually would. Second, I am hoping that by participating, I can improve my focus. I am so very easily distracted – oo look, a bird. Third, I love to procrastinate, not intentionally, but if I hit a sentence that I’m finding difficult to get across, off I wander to do this or that, wasting valuable time in the process. Fourth, NaNoWriMo has so many people willing to offer advice, cheer you on and there are so many pages on the website that help you with everything, from planning, characters, Arcs, naming your novel all the way through to what to do once you’re done. There is some serious support over there.

Up until November 1st, I’m focusing on planning my novel – not something I’m particularly good at but I’ve managed to plan up to chapter 19. Initially, I was going to use the storyline I had thought up for a wattpad project, but there were a few things that nagged me. I’m sticking with the title ‘Evangeline’ but chapter one needs a rewrite to delete the things I decided to cut and include new ideas. It started off as a present day battle to rid the world of the supernatural but I ended up cutting all supernatural and focusing on the future and a world in ruins. I have a short, rough synopsis written, which you can read below.

For everyone taking part in NaNoWriMo, I wish you the very best of luck. You can find me by using the search function on the NaNo website – username is E.L.Wicker

Synopsis:

Evangeline Gray is an Elected – a superhuman whose one and only objective is to work for the Dissident to eliminate the surviving members of a regime that destroyed the world.

As an Elected, Evangeline is happy to abide by the Dissident’s rules, believing in everything her organization does and stands for. It’s all she’s ever known and all she cares to know.

When Evangeline uncovers the Dissidents plans for a new regime, she also discovers their leader, Barret, has created a new type of superhuman to replace the Elected.

Under the guise of Barret’s lies, the Elected continue to blindly follow the Dissident, however Evangeline now knows that Barret intends to kill all of them.

In a bid to save the Elected, Evangeline and her teammates break free of the Dissident, in the hopes they can destroy Barret and his new race, before he kills every Elected and rolls out a new global Totalitarian regime.

14 thoughts on “So Much To Do – So Little Time

  1. I totally loved the idea of ridding the world of the supernatural- maybe because I read that scene and thought it was super awesome, but I also like the way this is going as well. Good thing about ideas that you don’t use- they can always creep back up in another project.

    Can I just say, I love the name Evangeline Gray!!!! Something about it says smooth, calming with just a little bit of kick ass.

    And I’m happy to know that my children aren’t the only one’s climbing, couches, walls, etc. The mentos thing is way too funny!

    • Honestly, I feel as though I run an asylum at times, the things they get up to. I expect that is the same for most parents! I am so glad you like the name Evangeline Gray. The children asked me the name of the book I was planning and when I told them it was a rare moment when they agreed on something – they hate it! lol. Ah well, I won’t be changing it regardless.

      I could indeed recycle that part of the plot for another book. To be honest, when I wrote Fractured, I didn’t think I would ever have an idea again, so I was really happy when Evangeline fought her way on to the scene. I am really looking forward to writing it!

  2. Good luck with NaNoWriMo! It’s so much fun and if you can be disciplined about writing every day, you will succeed 🙂 Your story sounds great too.

    • Thank you Julie 🙂 I’ve been outlining the chapters on a the very pretty notebook you kindly sent me from the competition on your facebook page – it’s come in very handy indeed! 🙂

      • Oh, well that’s even better! I hope it brings you every success 🙂 I look forward to reading your updates.

  3. Way to go! Evangeline sounds like she can kick Barret’s butt. I am in the midst of nailing down the plot points for my NaNoWriMo project. Twelve days til the starter gun fires!

    • Thank you. It’s fun but tough at the same time! We clearly think alike, one of the first things I did was get down all the major plot points. Good luck with NaNo, I’ll cheer you on! 🙂

    • Thank you – Good luck to you too 🙂 Never in my wildest dreams have I thought I could write 50k in a month, that’s why I’m planning this one – hope it works! lol 🙂

  4. No matter how hard we try we can never predict the future and prevent things from happening, huh? Good luck with your NaNoWriMo, I like the synopsis and believe that you’ll do great job!
    Btw you got me interested in that NaNoWriMo thing, thanks for sharing:)

  5. Sounds like an intense story! And I got the discount scrivener. It’s totally worth it, especially if you’re not one of those who likes to do revising with post cards or hard copies of your novel. I travel a lot, so I have to keep everything in digital format to keep suitcases light. Scrivener is perfect for that.

    Best of luck. Keep us posted on your story!

Leave a Reply

