Review: Step Brother Dearest by Penelope Ward

sbdYou’re not supposed to want the one who torments you.

When my stepbrother, Elec, came to live with us my senior year, I wasn’t prepared for how much of a jerk he’d be.

I hated that he took it out on me because he didn’t want to be here.
I hated that he brought girls from our high school back to his room.
But what I hated the most was the unwanted way my body reacted to him.

At first, I thought all he had going for him were his rock-hard tattooed abs and chiseled face. But things started changing between us, and it all came to a head one night.

Then, just as quickly as he’d come into my life, he was gone back to California.

It had been years since I’d seen Elec.

When tragedy struck our family, I’d have to face him again.

And holy hell, the teenager who made me crazy was now a man that drove me insane.

I had a feeling my heart was about to get broken again.

Stepbrother Dearest is a standalone novel.

Review

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I thought it would start once they met up again but I was delighted to be able to read the whole story form the time they were teens up to adults.

The interaction between the two is perfectly executed. Greta is sweet and, at times, ballsy. Elec’s character is complex and really well written.

It starts out with the moment that the two first met and Elec acts like a complete jackass. This left me wondering how I would ever find a way to like him, though to be fair – it wouldn’t be hard because these types of characters are my favorite. Even so, I wondered how the author would turn it around and make him likable. Well, she managed it – I won’t tell you how because that’d be a spoiler but she’ll have you eating out of his hand by the end.

The relationship between Greta and Elec develops at a nice pace, keeping my interest – actually, I read the book in one night because I couldn’t put it down. This was about 3 or 4 weeks ago and I still think about it now.

There are some minor points that I found frustrating. A couple of chapters toward the end of the book are basically a repeat of past events though through Elec’s point of view. This irritated me because I felt I didn’t need to read it again, regardless of POV. The ending too, seemed a little hasty. I think an extra chapter would have been beneficial to explore events further.

That being said, I still recommend this book because I really did love it.

So, out of five stars I give Step Brother Dearest

star_on_blackstar_on_blackstar_on_blackstar_on_black

 

4/5

Leave a Reply

