Whiskey, Wine & Writing: The Interview

Chances are you’ve heard of the latest and greatest literary webshow, Whiskey, Wine and Writing. If not, where have you been? I first stumbled upon the show during the very crazy few weeks that made up PitchWars. The lighthearted and fun approach by Natasha Raulerson and, then host, Tiffany Hoffman, left me bubbling with laughter. Moreover, their intelligent and insightful chatter regarding the literary world ensured my return to watch the show each week.

Since WWWriting’s inception, the show continues to advance both aesthetically and thematically. New host, Nikki Roberti, has used her technical flair to create a platform that is easy on the eye, while her knowledge of the literary world, coupled with the knowledge of Natasha Raulerson, has been a welcome addition to the show.

So, what do they have to say about the revamped webshow? I found out.

Whiskey, Wine and Writing: The Interview

First of all, can you tell us a little bit about yourselves?

TASH1Natasha: I’m a full time student seeking my Bachelors in English. I live in South Florida, with my husband, two dogs, and a dancing Groot toy I may be obsessed with. My favorite comic characters are Hawkeye and X23. Dancing while doing the laundry is the only way I can tolerate doing it. I’m currently querying my first novel REDEMPTION.

NikkiNikki: I’m a young adult author represented by Carrie Howland of the Donadio & Olson Literary Agency, and award-winning playwright, and a journalist/marketing writer with more than ten years of published experience. I live in North Carolina where I write for a non-profit by day (usually covering natural disasters) and also blog about my attempt at a happy, healthy lifestyle and author adventures on my blog. When I’m not writing (haha), I usually am cooking or making balloon animals.

What made you decide to start up Whiskey, Wine and Writing?

Natasha: It was just something that started on a whim. The nervous jitters of Brenda Drake’s #PITCHWARS competition was driving me and my critique partner crazy. We opted to go live with our worries, and one thing lead to another. It was only supposed to be for the duration of #PITCHWARS, but so many people requested it, and so I opted to bring it back.

Nikki: Obviously I didn’t start this show since Tasha asked me to be a host later on, but I am so beyond excited that she decided to keep the show going. I loved Whiskey, Wine, and Writing when #PitchWars was going on. It literally kept me sane during the application process, and I’m honored to be apart of the webcast now too so I can pay it forward and maybe help other stressed out authors feel sane too.

I’ve been watching WWWriting since the beginning and as a viewer, I have to say, I loved the chatter about all aspects of the writing process. What is your favorite subject to talk about?

Natasha: Oh geeze! That’s like asking my favorite author. It’s impossible to answer! I think, one of the things I really like to engage in, is reminding everyone how subjective the writing industry is and to keep a positive attitude. Positivity begets positivity.

Nikki: Is it cheating if I say writing? I’m with Tasha on the positivity aspect. I just love talking about the writing process and how we need to keep going no matter what. It’s a tough windy road of rejection out there for writers, but that doesn’t mean you have to go through it alone. I’m glad we have the writing community to have our backs.

WWWriting is gaining a steady following, to what do you attribute its success?

Natasha: I think a lot of that has to do with Nikki joining the fray. She’s so knowledgeable, adorable, and awesome. Her ideas are fantastic. I also think it has a lot to do with people looking for a community in the writing world, and that’s what we’re trying to make WWWriting. A place writers can go to learn, experience, and find community with each other.

Nikki: I swear, sometimes I think Tasha LIVES to try to make me blush. I think the success has to do with the awesome writing community and of course our awesome guests like Brenda Drake who are just as committed to helping writers succeed. We’re all in this together.

Who would your dream interview be with?

Natasha: Neil Gaiman. I love his books. The Graveyard Book and Neverwhere are two my favorites. His work is fantastic! If you’re not sure who that is, you’ve probably seen Stardust or Coraline, both major movies based off his work.

Nikki: John Green. Mainly because I’m curious about and fascinated by his quirky career and success– plus his next movie based on his book Paper Towns was recently filmed in my state, North Carolina, so I’m kinda obligatorily supportive in that regard. But his fame as an author is a bit different than other bestselling authors given his whole Vlogbrother Youtube channel, so I’d be interested in picking his brain a bit.

Watching WWWriting is a lot of fun, is it as much fun hosting it?

Natasha: (Laughs) Sometimes yeah. Sometimes it can be frustrating trying to get Google Hangouts to be cooperative. It’s always fun chatting with Nikki though, and whoever our guest may be. Sometimes the things that happen are just as much a surprise to us as it is the viewer.

Nikki: Oh totally. It’s honestly just as chill as it looks. Ninety percent of the time we’re wearing pajamas. My favorite times hosting are when we are covering topics that get the whole writing community active and involved. Like the last Twitter pitch critique with guest Brenda Drake right before PitMad was a ton of fun because we were answering live questions and helping out with critiques. I got the sweetest messages afterward about how people got success from their PitMad tweets because of our critiques, and honestly, that just meant so much to me. It’s what it’s all about really–connecting with one another and being a supportive writing community.

How do you prepare for each show and have you got any particular rituals that you tend to do before you begin broadcasting?

Natasha: Generally it’s just getting on, going over our notes last minute and making sure everything is working. Nikki and I catch up really quick, make sure everything is a go and start the webcast.

Nikki: Pretty much what Tasha said. We like keep things very organic and casual. Before the PitchWars reveal show we did have a dance off, but we don’t always do that (Note to Tasha: Maybe we should dance more?).

What do you see for the future of WWWriting?

Natasha: On the list of Writer’s Digest 101 Best Websites for Writers? That would be epic and awesome. We’re hoping to make it a hub, a community where writers can come and learn new information, meet new people. One of the things we’re planning to do is a Critique Partner Matchup in February. Events like those help writers meet each other and maybe find that one awesome CP they’ve been looking for.

Nikki: We’re also looking into doing a couple of panels in the future too whether it be authors of a particular genre or agents, etc. It’s really exciting stuff. My real dream though is to one day run a Whiskey, Wine, and Writing conference where people can literally go get their manuscripts critiqued or pitch their queries to agents AND have wine/whiskey tastings themed with books. An author can dream…

What have you got planned for the coming weeks? Any cool interviews you want to tell us about?

Natasha: NYT Bestselling author RACHEL CAINE is going to be with us January 9th talking about her Morganville Vampires and other things involving Urban Fantasy. We also have Nat Russo coming on regarding tips and tricks for self publishing, and I already mentioned the Critique Partner Matchup.

Nikki: Near the end of the month we will also have one of my closest friends and mega popular relationship blogger Lindsay Tigar of Confessions of a Love Addict on the show talking about how she got her agent through her blog, and also about social media. Then in February we will hopefully have my lovely PitchWars mentor on the show, Rachel Solomon, who is seriously one talented author and CP.

Do you have anything you want to say to your fans?

Natasha: Just that I’m so extremely humbled. It’s been an amazing journey so far and I hope it continues for a long time. On top of that, don’t ever be afraid to reach out to me. I’m glad to help in anyway I can and interact with fellow writers.

Nikki: Thank you so much for watching and being a part of this amazing writing community. We wouldn’t be anything without you guys, and we hope to build Whiskey, Wine, and Writing along with you to be a source of entertainment and education for everyone. Let us know what you want to see and always feel free to tweet me. I’m a bit of a weirdo, but I promise I’m a friendly one.

So that’s the lowdown on WWWriting. Thank you to Nikki and Natasha for answering my questions. You can check out the latest video here:

Follow WWWriting on Twitter.

Follow Natasha on Twitter.

Follow Nikki on Twitter.

4 thoughts on “Whiskey, Wine & Writing: The Interview

    • Yay!! That’s awesome. I’ve decided not to participate again. I absolutely loved it, but I’m self publishing now and loving that too 🙂 I will be there though, cheering you from the sidelines!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

