Want a Publishing Contract with Amazon? Read on to find out more.

I stumbled across Kindle Scout, literally stumbled, and we all know how much I tend to do that. So what is it? I scoured through it and here’s the lowdown.

If you have a nice shiny new and thoroughly complete (cover included) manuscript that you have never published before, you can submit it for consideration to Kindle Scout. If your book is picked up by them you get a $1500 advance, 50% royalty rate, easy rights reversions and featured amazon marketing. It will be published through Kindle Press and you’ll receive 5 year renewable terms.

So how does your book get picked? Easy peasy (kind of), you don’t have to do anything. By all means you can tweet, blog, facebook or phone a friend, but essentially, the people who choose whether or not your book gets picked are the readers. Readers have 30 days to browse your book and click the vote button. Everyone gets the same treatment – 30 days, no more, no less. After those 30 days, your book will be taken down, nominations across all submitted books within that 30 days will be counted and the person with the most votes wins.

So how do you submit?

Ah, good question. In order for your book to be eligible, as previously stated, it must never have been published before and you must have a cover. It must be 50k words or more and YOU must be 18 years or older. You must have an amazon.com account. Also, it needs to have a title, obviously.

Using 45 characters or less (jeez, I find the 140 on Twitter hard enough), you need to create a one liner to grab attention. For example, for mine I would use something like: Vengeful vamp finds love within enemy ranks (and that, ladies and gentlemen, is why I suck at queries!)

Next, within 5oo character or less, you need to write a book description. To help with character count, aside from word, I recommend Character Count Online.

Done that? Great. Now you need (groan) a bio and a picture of yourself. Oh, and its got to be 500 characters or less again.

Now, you need to add a little note that will be displayed to readers upon submitting their vote for your book. You can include your social media handles and website in this. No character limitations but I’d recommend short and sweet.

Before you submit!

Make sure you read the Submission and Publication agreement. It contains important information.

Here is a teeny breakdown on some of it:

This is important! Amazon will have a 45 day exclusivity period in which to consider your book. This means you can’t submit it for consideration elsewhere.

By the end of the 5 year term, (within which Kindle Scout will hold exclusive distribution rights) if you have not earned $25,000 you have six months to request your rights back.

If, within six months of the beginning of the initial contract, Kindle Scout have failed to make your work available publicly to buy, you may request your rights back.

If, within two years, Kindle Scout have failed to make your work available for sale in audio format, you can request your audio rights back.

There are many, many more. I’m not fantastic at making sense of terms so make sure you read thoroughly.

Once you submit

You’ll hear back within one to two days with the expected day your book will become available to be voted on.

So, that’s pretty much the low down. As I’ve mentioned, make sure you read everything thoroughly in order to decide if this is suitable for you and it it’s something you may be interested in. I won’t go into any pro’s or con’s because what may be a pro for you, may be a con for me.

8 thoughts on “Want a Publishing Contract with Amazon? Read on to find out more.

    • Thank you! I’m thinking of using it in the future. The book I’m working on now is the second in the series I’ve already published, but I have my one from NaNo but it needs LOTS of work!! Glad it was of some use to you πŸ™‚

  1. In my opinion do standard kindle self publishing; it’s what I do. This sounds like a bad idea. A vote process putting your works directly up against those of well known authors? Is Amazon collectively shrooming or what? New authors won’t stand a chance.

    Plus under the more standard kindle self publishing, you keep your rights. While it’s true Amazon won’t push your book hard, there are fewer hoops to jump through and you can publish elsewhere with no problem.

    • As I mentioned, anyone considering should research thoroughly prior to going ahead. It is entirely down to the individual. As a self publisher myself, I would consider this option, perhaps in the future. I fail to see said hoops though. Unless you mean the 500 word descriptions, I’ll admit, it puts me off a bit! However, for those that tend to query agents, they’ll already have these things to hand, mimizing significantly the amount of prep work they would have to do. I’m undecided, but, as mentioned, I would consider it in the future. Perhaps I’d have someone with a bit more knowledge of reading t&c’s look over it first. πŸ™‚

  2. I find this tempting. I’ve got three novels written, none published, but I always wonder if these offers have some hidden “catch” or “motive.” I don’t know what I’m waiting for — not putting it out there to begin with gets me nowhere. Thanks for the heads up! Gotta just go for it sooner or later!

    • So true!! You really do have to put them out there at some point. Do it for the readers, you’re denying them your words!! There are many publishing options available. I got a request from two publishers for Fractured Immortal, but after some research I decided they weren’t for me. I ended up self publishing and I’m happy I did. Had I known about this, I probably would’ve given it a shot.

Leave a Reply

