How to: Format your book for Createspace

It’s a tough world out there. There’s bills to pay, growing children to feed, clothe etc and necessities to buy. It’s really not that easy to wipe your butt with newspaper. Writing and publishing a book can be a costly venture. There are things you can’t avoid – an attractive cover, an excellent editor, and pens. Many, many pens to stow away along with a notebook so if inspiration strikes – you’re prepared. High Five.

But there are things you don’t need to spend money on and formatting is one of them. So, I made a little video to teach you exactly how to format your book for 5×8 on Createspace (I’ll bring you a 6×9 video too, if wanted). The video assumes you use word. I’m aware that many use Scrivener, so I will look into this and bring you an easy to follow video on that too. Again, I know some people like to convert to PDF’s so they can embed their font and chapter numbers. I will try to bring you a video on that too. However, I use this simple method for my own manuscripts. I don’t use fancy fonts and listed chapters/table of contents. My book is a New Adult fiction and us grown ups don’t need a table of contents.

The font you use is up to you. I use Times New Roman in 11pt. I just went with whatever for this video, though.

There are a number of things I will teach you.

  1. How to set your margin size
  2. How to set your page layout
  3. How to format your book
  4. How to have a Chapter Header ready to use, with the click of a button.

So, by the time you’ve watched this video (and I advise having a test document open already so you can follow it) – you’ll be able to do it all yourself – for free. I advise enlarging the video to full screen so you can see and just pause when needed. Here goes:

(If you don’t like Greenday, mute now)


I hope that helped!

7 thoughts on “How to: Format your book for Createspace

Leave a Reply

